Understanding the Conversation View
One of the key differences between the Google Mail web application and other email clients if the fact that Google displays messages as grouped conversations. This means that the original message and all replies will be grouped together and will appear as one item within Google Mail.
The above example shows a [coa-l] iPad question
conversation that has a total of 9 threads (1 original email and 8 replies). The thread count is indicated by the number within the parentheses.
buttons will archive or delete the entire conversation (including your Sent
replies). Archiving a Conversation
The archive option will remove the conversation from your Inbox view and will retain all messages and replies (including your Sent
messages). This feature is useful for quickly "hiding" messages you have already read or replied to allow your Inbox to only show messages pending your review. The archived conversation will automatically return to your Inbox if a new reply is received within the conversation. You can also use the search feature to find a review the conversation again at a later time.
You can archive an open conversation by clicking the Archive
button. Doing so will archive the open message and return you to your Inbox view.
You can archive multiple messages by checking the
(check box) in front of each message and then click the Archive
button.Deleting a Conversation
The delete option will delete all of the messages grouped into the conversation (including the replies that you have sent). Deleted message will be moved to your Trash view for 30 days and can be recovered during that time. Deleted messages will not show up in the Google search results.
You can delete an open conversation by clicking the Delete
button. The message will be closed and you will be returned to your Inbox view.
You can delete multiple messages by checking the
(check box) in front of each message and then click the Delete